Vampyr vs Metronome vs Zigmahornets, DCA 4 vs EnABled vs Fostex help!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I am new to this full-range driver thing, but as I was reading the 6moons review of the Zigmahornets my wife walked by and said she thought they were pretty. I saw an opening there, so as long as I keep the cost down, I have the OK to build a nice sounding system. Thought I would go with the SI T-amp, I have a room 10' x 19', listen mostly to vocals and classical (strings), would prefer to keep the speakers within 6" of the wall and position them on the long wall with the sofa opposite, so I would be sitting 7-8' away. No carpet in the room, vinyl floor and painted plaster walls. Prefer good imaging, nice highs, no thunderous bass needed.
Liked the Zigs, but there always seems to be a 'but' in what people say about them, then there are the Metronomes, (but the wife says they're OK looking), and the Vampyrs seem to be a design with nothing said about them since the design last year. THEN there are the drivers-Fostex, EnABled, and now the DCA 4 seems to be available again.
The more I read, the less I know....
Suggestions appreciated, especially any feedback on those who can compare the above, or have heard the Vampyrs.

If I read you correctly, the Metronomes still had enough WAF ?

If so, and as there appears to be no anecdotal reports on the Vampyrs yet, the Metronomes would be my hands down recommendation.

As for drivers, as my signature line will portray, I might not be objective on the matter, but I think it wouldn't take long to find some very positive user feedback on the Fostex FE127EN (i.e. the Planet10 modified units)

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
Hi,

No one has built Vampr yet (at least that is talking) so that is why no feedback.

Metronome -- at least for FE127 & FE108 has been built and builders like it.