108E Sigma vs. 126E - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st March 2009, 06:39 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default 108E Sigma vs. 126E

Could someone that has owned both the 126E and the 108E Sigma, and who lived with each in their own room longer than a one day audition, describe the sonic differences? I'm aware that the 108E is a bit less efficient and more expensive, but I'm looking for adjectives that would give me at least a rough idea of how they sound different in similarly sized cabinets. i.e. Frugal-Horn Mikasa.
Thanks!!!
Old 1st March 2009, 07:29 PM   #2
chrisb is offline chrisb  Canada
diyAudio Member

I'll bite,

I've had over 5 years of experience with both drivers in a wide range of enclosure types (mostly BLH of some nature), and with good cross section of budget commercial and DIY electronics both SS and tubed.

To be specific, I've heard both drivers in the Frugelhorn, Buschhorn MKI, and Hornshoppe Horns, as well as the Sigma in Aiko, and the 126 in Ron Clarke's A126.

In as few words as possible, I'd describe the Sigma as less dynamic, much smoother and more "finely grained" in the midrange, with a more recessed and wider soundstage. It's softer at both ends of the spectrum; with my hearing loss and tinitus, I'm far more aware of the difference between the two drivers from the mid-bass down, rather than above, let's say 12kHz.

The 126 has nominally 3 dB of higher sensitivity, clearly noticeable extension and dynamics at both ends, and a far more forward presentation. It can certainly deliver more SPL and jump factor with the same amount of amp power, and for most folks would probably win the "bang for the buck" contest - however it can be a bit harsh in the upper midrange (3-8k). It does respond very well to treatment.