Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th February 2009, 11:05 AM   #1
Tyimo is offline Tyimo  Hungary
diyAudio Member

Default Two drivers loading the same horn.

Hi!

What is the theory for two drivers loading the same horn?
( for example the Lowther Academy )
Is it need a 2 times bigger horn ( throat and mouth) or just a simple sized horn?

Greets:

Tyimo
Old 15th February 2009, 04:11 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hi Tyimo,

Well, since nobody has answered, yet, and speaking strictly as a newbie, I'll hazard a wild guess. Most likely all of what I'm about to say is wrong, wrong, wrong.

In adding a second driver, presumably the chamber size would double.

The thoat, mouth, length and flare are all mathematically related to each other. If you know three, you can derive the fourth. So you can't just double the throat while keeping the rest the same. (But you could cut a new throat somwhere further up the horn, but that changes the length as well).

Having said all that, when calculating a horn, you tend to size the throat as a ratio to Sd, with the old rule of thumb being throat = .3 to .7 of Sd. Adding the second driver doubles Sd, so if you were designing from scratch, presumably you'd double the chamber, double the throat, keep the mouth the same, and change either the length or the flare (and then solve for either length or flare, which ever is unknown). Don't put any faith in what I'm writing, as I'm merely repeating what I recall reading.

I have learned that designing a BLH is like trying to hit a bullet with a bullet -- there are so many mathematically "valid" variations but finding one that will sound good will take months of an expert's time to design, and even then, the final result's sonic quality still has so many external variables (driver tweaks, amp, room etc.)