Two drivers loading the same horn.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Tyimo,

Well, since nobody has answered, yet, and speaking strictly as a newbie, I'll hazard a wild guess. Most likely all of what I'm about to say is wrong, wrong, wrong.

In adding a second driver, presumably the chamber size would double.

The thoat, mouth, length and flare are all mathematically related to each other. If you know three, you can derive the fourth. So you can't just double the throat while keeping the rest the same. (But you could cut a new throat somwhere further up the horn, but that changes the length as well).

Having said all that, when calculating a horn, you tend to size the throat as a ratio to Sd, with the old rule of thumb being throat = .3 to .7 of Sd. Adding the second driver doubles Sd, so if you were designing from scratch, presumably you'd double the chamber, double the throat, keep the mouth the same, and change either the length or the flare (and then solve for either length or flare, which ever is unknown). Don't put any faith in what I'm writing, as I'm merely repeating what I recall reading.

I have learned that designing a BLH is like trying to hit a bullet with a bullet -- there are so many mathematically "valid" variations but finding one that will sound good will take months of an expert's time to design, and even then, the final result's sonic quality still has so many external variables (driver tweaks, amp, room etc.)

Tough stuff, way over my head! Tyimo, did you ever build a Replikon-style horn as you were planning?

GM

Joined 2003
Greets!