Zigmahornet build- Help im new

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
SO i bought all the wood today. Had a cabinet shop cut it for me. I told them i would to the angles, but for the life of me i cant get em fig out. So i was searching around and saw this pic from larkinrulez. He just flat top his zigmahornets. Y cant you just do that instead of doing all the angles. Does it have any effect on sound?

Attachments

• 03.jpg
    03.jpg
    32.3 KB · Views: 610
Hi tigh4life, speaking strictly as a fellow newb, I don't see any disadvantage to a flat top.

I simulated the enclosure in Martin J. King's software, and the enclosure does not seem to provide any low frequency support (in other words, it's just there as an infinite baffle, to prevent the cone's rear radiation from canceling out the front radiation, thus the dimensions and angles aren't all that critical). In this cab, and in infinite baffle, the bass output is apparently the same -- a rolloff at 100Hz.

But people rave about the sound because the narrow baffles provide fantastic imaging. Personally, I'd make it flat myself while people better at woodworking might make it angled because it looks cool. I don't think there's any sonic benefit. But keep in mind I haven't built it, this is just one person's opinion, and let's see what others have to say.