Zigmahornet build- Help im new - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd January 2009, 11:34 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Zigmahornet build- Help im new

SO i bought all the wood today. Had a cabinet shop cut it for me. I told them i would to the angles, but for the life of me i cant get em fig out. So i was searching around and saw this pic from larkinrulez. He just flat top his zigmahornets. Y cant you just do that instead of doing all the angles. Does it have any effect on sound?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 03.jpg (32.3 KB, 567 views)
Old 23rd January 2009, 01:25 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hi tigh4life, speaking strictly as a fellow newb, I don't see any disadvantage to a flat top.

I simulated the enclosure in Martin J. King's software, and the enclosure does not seem to provide any low frequency support (in other words, it's just there as an infinite baffle, to prevent the cone's rear radiation from canceling out the front radiation, thus the dimensions and angles aren't all that critical). In this cab, and in infinite baffle, the bass output is apparently the same -- a rolloff at 100Hz.

But people rave about the sound because the narrow baffles provide fantastic imaging. Personally, I'd make it flat myself while people better at woodworking might make it angled because it looks cool. I don't think there's any sonic benefit. But keep in mind I haven't built it, this is just one person's opinion, and let's see what others have to say.
Old 23rd January 2009, 01:38 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thanks for the input. I dont see y it would be an issues but this is my first DIY speaker build of this sort. Ive built tons of car audio boxs but those were for subs, not fullrange
Old 23rd January 2009, 01:40 AM   #4
diyAudio Member