diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Full Range (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/full-range/)
-   -   to vent or not to vent ? (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/full-range/137108-vent-not-vent.html)

Bigun 22nd January 2009 07:02 PM

to vent or not to vent ?

I have been thinking about a Fonken for an HT set up. Today, I realized that my HT set up will very likely incorporate a sub, which means I don't need to stretch the LF performance of the main speakers. In fact I don't really want them interfering with each other do I.

I'm new to this game so my thoughts may be off-track - here goes:

Venting allows me to get more LF with some tradeoffs. Most of the tradeoffs are ok, but I am lead to understand that a possible issue is that the cone is left 'unloaded' at low frequencies where excessive signal would drive the cone hard against it's xmas and produce distortion in the mid frequencies. This could be a scenario with an HT set up if I'm not there to supervise !

So I go to thinking that maybe an FE127e sealed box would be a better approach as it keeps the cone better loaded at LF and the HT sub fills in for the quick fall off at 100Hz or so?

I understand that one may have chosen a different driver for such an enclosure type, but the driver is already purchased.

Perhaps 100Hz is too high a cut off for the sub in that it may be too directional and not 'disappear' as effectively as the more traditional 80Hz cut off ?

I'm not sure if the resistive nature of the Fonken ports provides more effective loading at LF than a 'regular' BR box and perhaps represents a compromise that is the best of both worlds ?

I'd welcome opinions on the above ?

p.s. I'm still looking for a free excel based vented box calculation spreadsheet that shows me the frequency response of the speaker whilst allowing me to specify the box volume.