Back Loaded Horn with Passive Radiator?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have just bought some Alpair 10s and while I already feel I have an application for them (BR for HT), I was wondering about whether there was a better way to use them to achieve the full dynamic range inherent with HT and of course music in general. Most of my searches came up with MTMLs (along with BR).

One post that interested me was by GM where he spoke about designing a BLH with PR. This came from the numerous FR drivers that are now also providing high Xmax. eg.
Item Qts Fs Vas Xmax Dimensions
Jordan JX92S 0.4 45 15.28 9mm 4"/92mm
Alpair 10 0.33 40 19.5 8.5mm 4"/100mm
CSS FR125SR 0.59 70 5.98 6mm 4.5"/125mm
Sonido SFR-144-8 0.228 55 14.8 6.8mm 4.5"/120mm

Has anyone actually put together a build or design like this? Interested to know folks thoughts on this.

NB: I am a newbie to speaker building so I don't mind if someone says I am completely off track ;)

GM

Joined 2003
I don't remember what I wrote, but it's something I'd like to try one of these days with my early version FR125S drivers as it will probably only be viable with those that have a low mass corner. Anyway, with no way to sim it accurately it would be a trial n' error build/measure/tweak affair and probably have to do it again based if my prototyping history is an indicator.

WRT an MLTL for it, I recently tweaked an existing pair designed for the late RS 40-1354 to good effect IMO, so a viable option for modest average SPL down into the 30s, i.e. loud enough for small rooms and/or apartments and/or a near-field app.

GM

Hi GM
thanks for your reply. If you do some work on a BLH with PR that would be great. I dont have the testing equipment so wouldnt be able to provide the necessary measurements if I did it myself. Sounds like a winter project ;)