First DIY - Fullrange on a €100 budget

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new to the world of DIY, always found it interesting but never really got into it due to various reasons.
I really would like to get into it and probably the best way is to start small with a complete design rather then starting from scratch designing my own.
What i would like is to start with is a compact design that uses a fullrange driver.

I'm looking for some suggestions keeping the following in mind;

My budget would be around €50 per speaker so +- €100 in total (about $135) for the components (not including cabinet and finish)
I will be using them as replacement for my pc speakers hooked up to a marantz amp that delivers about 35-40w. so they have to be able to take a bit of power.
At first i was looking at this 3" setup at Zaphaudio but something like that is a bit underpowered at 15w
A decent bass would be apreciated but it doesnt need to be earth shattering wich i'm sure would be impossible with fullrange drivers :)
Not too big, the Cyburg Needle and various like it pop up alot but they are too big/high.

Any suggestions would be much apreciated.
Preferbly complete designs for cabinet and crossover.

Cheers :)

ha nog een landgenoot :D

for near the PC I would advise a FR speaker, but with the small budget and small size I doubt if you can find anything decent that can handle more power... but I don't think you'll need it, just use the volume knob wisely :cool:

I have made a TL version of the CT222 design (this is with the Omnes Audio BB3.01, there is a thread here and on zelfbouwaudio.nl ) which will give at close range an amazing bass, also have I seen (on forum.zelfbouwaudio.nl) a desktop TL design with the Tangband W3-871 (called pico tango)

of course the desktop TL I made with the new Markaudio Alpair5 would also be nice, but this goes above your budget