Saburo's Vs. DTB

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Greetings, Gents and Ladies,

I've been reading this project report with very great interest, and I'm inspired to try it myself.

I have a couple of questions, if I may.

Do you have a rough idea of how many hours you've got into the project, Dave?

Also, I have a pair of DCA Merrill type 4" drivers acquired for a planned Sigmahornet project. Will that driver work in this horn, in the event that the Siggies don't sound as satisfying as the glowing 6Moons review found them?

Thank you.

Brenton

Wha' DIYa know? said:

I have a couple of questions, if I may.

Do you have a rough idea of how many hours you've got into the project, Dave?

Yes, 11 days SOLID over the Christmas holidays Brenton. Starting about 8.30-9.00AM finishing between 5.00-9.00PM ish.... I'm a very slow and methoducal worker when it comes to wood. I'm not a chippy by trade. I'm sure a pro would do it in a day with a table saw and enough clamps!

:)

Dunno about your drivers, maybe one of the tech-bods could answer that one.

They are amazing loudspeakers.

DTB

Thanks to both of you Daves for your answers.

Well, I think I better just tuck in for a lengthy project that promises to reward my efforts at the end. I'll build my Sigmahornets for the practice, since I haven't done any wood-gluing since, ohhh, jr high school.

You did a great job on those speakers, Dave. I've been forwarding the link to my friends.

I'll resign myself to getting the recommended drivers. I'm sure they are only a fraction of the overall cost -- expecially when figgering in the time one must invest.

Again, my thanks.

Brenton

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
Wha' DIYa know? said:
I'll resign myself to getting the recommended drivers. I'm sure they are only a fraction of the overall cost -- expecially when figgering in the time one must invest