Backloaded Horn for Fostex FE 83

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
becki200 said:
Hi im a newbie here and first of all i love this forum. Im building backloaded horns and im still looking for a small blh enclosure for the Fostex FE 83. Does anyone have an idea? I heard that there is a Nagaoka enclosure for this driver, but couldnt find a plan for it. So if you can help me, please answer. Thx a lot and best regards Thorsten

look at the original Buschhorn MkI enclosure - I think it's about as small a "BLH" as you're likely to find that actually works.

http://www.speaker-online.de/bauen/bhorn.htm

If you can't read the original German text, the diagram and parts list should be sufficient to build from.

This design/folding topology is relatively easy to modify for a 4" driver (i.e. FE126/FE108EZ/FF125K - works best with the 126)

Note that optimum performance of this type of design is predicated on using room corners to complete the final section of horn mouth - they will still work without, but be severely limited in the lowest octaves.

Hello,

because of the little Xmax of the driver,
better take a double horn i prefer my
TROMBONE

Attachments

• trombone jvo.kl.datei.jpg
    trombone jvo.kl.datei.jpg
    17.2 KB · Views: 1,799
giantstairs said:
I think you can find it here:
http://homepage3.nifty.com/spida/eng-page9-1-3.htm

I think Clark at Blumenstein Audio sells something like this:
http://www.blumenstein-ultra-fi.com/naga.html

Good luck and let us now which you decide.

Yes, the F-81 was the starting point for the Naga design, which is now pretty heavily evolved. It is definitely viable in stock "F-81" form though.

I personally love the small Fostex drivers. harder to please than you think though... they are very resolute, especially in the upper frequencies. gotta feed 'em right.