can any body help to analise - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th November 2008, 08:42 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default can any body help to analise

inputed parameter, calculated, as posted pics are result.
pl give any advise.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg blh 1.jpg (50.9 KB, 269 views)
Old 8th November 2008, 08:44 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

2nd
Attached Images
File Type: jpg blh 2.jpg (53.3 KB, 241 views)
Old 9th November 2008, 12:54 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Hmm, there's no context provided. I'm just a newbie but here's what I think the gurus would say. To build a BLH you ultimately need:

1. the driver and specs
2. your target for low-end response (e.g., 50Hz?)
3. whether the horn is front-firing or rear-firing
4. size of the chamber
5. size of the throat
6. size of the mouth
7. length of the path
8. the flare rate (exponential?)

Here's a simplistic attempt at an explanation. (In reality, the gurus wouldn't do it quite this way but it's just an example.)

Imagine you have a little bass reflex box. And attached to the BR's vent is a gigantic horn. How long? How big? What shape? Let's find out.

First figure out the tuning of the BR. Let's say the box is tuned to 200Hz. So simplistically, we're going to "feed" the horn with 200Hz and below. Down to what frequency? You have to choose that. Let's say 50hz. That means the vent will feed the horn with 200Hz and below.

Now you are committing to the mouth's size and length (dictated by the size of the 50Hz wavelength). There's so much more as well, e.g., the quarter-wave action (additional low frequency resonance below the horn's proper tuning).