Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th October 2008, 07:40 PM   #1
blrh93 is offline blrh93  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default full range drivers in a sonus faber style cabinet. would this work?

hi,
i am a gcse student and am building a pair of speakers for my final project in design and technology i was wondering if it would be possible to use a fullrange driver in a sonus faber style cabinet (curved back), or would i not be able to get a good enough bass reproduction?

i was hoping to use this style of cabinet/enclosure.

http://www.hifi4all.dk/forum/forum_p...?TID=3729&PN=1
Old 14th October 2008, 08:02 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Yes, you can build a great sounding speaker using a full range driver in a cabinet like that. Fostex makes a number of drivers that sound great in ported boxes. You just need to make sure the volume in the box is appropriate and port it for best sound. Figure the size of you speaker and the box volume and then look at the Fostex 167e, 127e or even the 207e has been known to work in ported boxes. Also, look at some of the Tangband drivers. They make some great 3 and 4 inch full range drivers that also work great in ported boxes like the one you like. Jordan makes a great driver for a box like that too.
Old 14th October 2008, 08:12 PM   #3
frugal-phile(tm)
diyAudio Moderator

Of the SF i've heard the ones in Ellipsa shaped boxes had the edge... but this style (done right) would certainly out do a money coffin (rectangular box)

dave
Old 14th October 2008, 09:38 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

thanks for the help, i was hoping on using a fostex sigma driver would this be appropriate?
Old 14th October 2008, 09:58 PM   #5
frugal-phile(tm)
diyAudio Moderator

Quote:
Originally posted by blrh93