$2500, 5 years, 11 projects (not all fullrange)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I don't pay much attention to times and dates, but my internal clock is telling me I've been persuing this audio hobby semi-seriously for about 5 years now. I've always been interested in and spent money on music and gear, but 5 years ago I knew absolutely less than nothing (and never planned on making anything other than cheap subs for cheap and/or free drivers) but since then I've made a conscious effort to learn more and spend wisely (but not necessarily less).

On this 5 year anniversary, I took some time to take stock of what I had spent (and I mean EVERY penny), how much I saved over retail price on these parts and materials due to my frugaliciousness, and what I have actually accomplished, physically and mentally. I've had much more time than money to spend over this period, so I learned a lot. Thumbs up. I've spent just shy of $2000. Considering that I spent about 65% of retail prices that doesn't seem too bad. Thumbs up. And physically... I've started 11 projects (not including a few of the early subwoofer experiments that didn't cost anything) and had several working models, but I have never actually finished one single project. Two big thumbs down. (Some of these projects listed below are only 'projects' because I have drivers that need boxes.)