alpair 5 from markaudio

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
They're brand new, so I doubt there'll be many people here who've had a chance to listen to them. Looks like they've had Ted Jordan's input (always a good thing) so I imagine they'll be pretty good, albeit low sensitivity & needing that supporting bass unit. From a brief look, the 2 way on the Markaudio site looks like a reasonable enough design if you want a bookshelf cabinet.

i'm just worried not enough SPL for big room, i;m planning to set it on 30 sq.m room

i seen some kits on css from occam audio, seems interesting also

i know u have an extensive listening with the jordans scottmoose, do u think its agood idea to pair jx92s with alpair?

cheers

I'm not scottmoose, and I have little experience with the Jordan and none with the alpair, but it seems to me that you'd use _either_ the Jordan or the alpair, and supplement whichever you choose with whatever is needed to approach full-range in a bookshelf design. With the alpair, you'd clearly need a woofer, and with the Jordan, you could possibly add a tweeter. The Jordan and the alpair overlap so much in terms of usable frequency response that it would seem like a waste to use both in one design. You'd have plenty of choices in terms of a crossover point, however, if you did. ;-) - Pat

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
The Alpair was the Jordan J6T in a previous life. These are the parts that Mark Audio had all tooled up for Jordan before the dramatic events.

I have an unused pair here, Gregg the Geek and i have been playing with the J6T in preparation for these.

They fill the same niche as the FF85k, the jury is still out but the Fostex has the edge.

dave

Attachments

• p8070004.jpg
    p8070004.jpg
    85.6 KB · Views: 1,424
i thought j6t need the box to work properly.