Basic questions for newb - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th August 2008, 09:30 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Basic questions for newb

Hi all

I've been considering building some speakers for a couple of years now, and finally now able to do it, but there are still a load of things I'd like some advice on, if possible.

I definately want a full range, single driver set up.

I have been looking at the frugal horn websote, and have been considering something along these lines. (spawn) I was also thinking of either a TL type enclosure, (http://www.quarter-wave.com/Gallery/Gallery.html) or the fostex 208 cabinet (with the fostex 206e driver)

Now I have never heard any of these before but they are all supposed to be really good.

Currently I have a HK AVI100 with a NAD cd player + PC and some gale gold monitor bookshelf speakers. (and some wharfdale linton 2s)

Room Size is ~3x4 metres.(x2.5m high)
Mostly listen to rock / dance

I will be ordering an AMP6 kit, and it's fairly cheap and should be interesting to build. I shall probably couple this with a decent PC sound card (emu 404?) and maybe some kind of preamp to offer me multiple inputs...

Anyway...

I was very keen on the fostex 206e driver + fostex 208 cabinet. (WAF has been handled ) But are these just too big (sound wise) for the room? Any speaker would need to be against the wall/corner with maybe ~10 cm max around. The are said to have good deep bass slam (appealing), but HOW deep? deeper than my current setup? will it shake the floor/wall? Can they handle late night low volume listening?