"Marconi"

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been playing with different FR drivers for near to 7 months now.

Most have been with OB as I've experienced most pleasant sound with them but a few horns and TL's as well. Bib's are on the list.

To date all builds have been cardboard or OSB as this is has been merely experiments . I've used 3 different Pio's, Misco's, TB's , CSS and most recently some NOS MTX/Oakton 8" simply as price was right so I gave them a go.

To date all FR's have surprised me with realism in presentation I just didn't get with multi driver speakers. Each does have a weak point, usually bass but show me a multidriver speaker without a 12" or larger woofer that goes where I want it to .

I found myself back at where I was near a year ago reading Fikus' (Lampizator) site. I have been highly impressed with his opinions. Ego is simply not in the Mans thought process.

Again without knowing and hoping to keep cost down I simply had to see if Alnico was better than I'd recalled and were his opinions valid.

I ran across some Pio NOS Alnico 4.5" FR's on Ebay and snatched them. Wow! Not much of a magnet and not much xmas but incredible sound for what they were. Only lack was bass or they'd out perform all I'd tryed in that size. Guy claimed 60's vintage and likely true as zero from a Google on number.

Saw some vintage Marconi's (10" FR with whizzer) from an old Tube Console . Seller claimed from 40's (belonged to his Dad) but I don't think Consoles came around til mid 50's. A neighbor had one of them way back then that sounded better in my recollection than my Dads Zenith so I ventured yet again. They arrived this AM. Double Wow!!