full range desktop speaker. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th May 2008, 02:49 PM   #1
Sh1mmy is offline Sh1mmy  Australia
diyAudio Member

Default full range desktop speaker.

Hey all...

I'm a bit new to this, and was wanting to ask some questions...

I'm after a set of speakers to hook up to my computer (for now, would probably get moved to a small HT at a later date), but have a few things it has to be...

No higher than 450mm (or atleast as close to).
Have reasonably decent bass without a sub, <50hz would be perfect.
decent mids, and highs (I realize it might need a tweeter)

On the desk, it can come out no further than 430mm, and about the same in width, so i cant see that being a prob at all.

Now, I've found a design i kinda like, but am unsure if it will suit me.

http://spiralspeaker.web.fc2.com/aaa...ng-ag220z.html

I'm not sure if it would suit me, as i listen to a wide range of genres, from...
Blues, Rock'n'Roll (old school), Jazz, Swing, (not sure exactly what genre it fits into) i also like pieces like what Hanz Zimmer does.... these make up about 75% of what i listen to, the others being a mixture of a lot of genres.
I also, play quite a few games/movies, but more time is spent listening to music.

So, the question there is, would something like that, suit me?

I was originally going to buy something along the lines of the Dali Concept 2, Paradigm Atom... etc.
Then i thought about a DIY 2way, and after doing some research, i found some pros/cons of singe wide range speakers, and here i am.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers.
Old 13th May 2008, 07:27 PM   #2
falis is offline falis  United States
diyAudio Member

I know this is the DiY place, but check out these (and the reviews at places like 6moons): http://www.audio-magus.com/product_p/sjb3.htm