Fostexs smaller fullrange drivers questions? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd April 2008, 10:07 PM   #1
phil09 is offline phil09  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Fostexs smaller fullrange drivers questions?

Hello all. I am a newbie to this forum. I do have a couple questions for all of you? I am a fostex fan and would like to try their other offerings. I have had the fostex fe 206e drivers very good driver. I am looking at 4 fullrange drivers

1. FF 125k 4.5" fullrange drivers at $41.60 each

2. Fe 126e 4.5" fullrange drivers at $42.75 each

3. Fe108ez 4" fullrange drivers at $88.15 each

4. Fx 120 5" fullrange drivers at $ 102.60 each

Here are the ones I am looking at. I really need some help on all of these drivers. I am looking also looking at hemp acoustics and abrown. They both have the hempcone fullrange sound. I do not know how they sound or how they will hold up next to the fostex. Thanks for your help. jeff:confused
Old 23rd April 2008, 12:06 AM   #2
DaveCan is offline DaveCan  Canada
diyAudio Member

I'd go with the fe108ez over all those other drivers if you can get by with the 90db sens of the 108.. I'm doing fine with 6w rms using the 108's and they are quite wonderful, depends on how loud you listen...
Many have turned to the 126 in somewhat recent times over the 108(the whole thing got started by Ed with his horns) for the extra sens and a bit more low end, but the 108 is still the magic 4'' Fostex driver IMO, better mids and highs .. Dave
Old 23rd April 2008, 04:55 AM   #3
frugal-phile(tm)
diyAudio Moderator

I've just been listening to the FX120 this last week... definitely the best of the lot.

I found the FF125 to have a weirdness on the top... strong bottom, it could well be good as a midbass.