Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th March 2008, 05:10 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default OT: DIY Attempted Theft Stories

Would anyone be willing to share their stories in which someone -- an individual or a company -- tried to steal or unjustly profit from DIY fullrange speaker designs (or any related software)?

I'm not looking to identify the guilty parties -- I'm just curious about who (in general) attempts this, how far they get, and how they are eventually thwarted. (I'm a computer programmer and adjunct college instructor, and yes, I've had my software stolen more than a few times by dishonest people acting on behalf of organizations.)

Even hearsay or anecdotes could be interesting, so long as no names are mentioned.
Old 9th March 2008, 12:52 PM   #2
BHD is offline BHD  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to BHD
One wannabe audio magazine writer started selling Sachikos and Half Changs for ridiculous prices on his site, claiming they were his own design. He even stole two or three paragraphs of Scottmoose's text verbatim from the Spawn of Frugal Horn page and used it on his own site!

Details are buried in the Spawn of Frugal Horn thread - Planet 10 shamed him into taking the "designs" off his site.