Back loaded horn bipoles? What? Why?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hi all, I'm a newbie
a newbie to diy speakers, but not to diy in general. And since acoustics is kind of black magic, I have to consult the druids...

my goal: Long story short I want to start building a diy 5.1 HT speaker set using FR drivers.

Why? not so much to save a buck (I won't), but more for the fun of diy-ing, tweaking and enjoying my creation.

the project: I will begin with 2 bipole surround speakers, since, for the time being, I have 2 good front L and R. Center and sub will follow. Bipoles, I've heard, are excellent for surround.

the drivers: Fostex FE127E.
I chose them over the FE126 because, if the bipolar thing fails, then I will make two monopoles for the surround and the two remaining drivers will go into the center channel, where magnetic shielding counts. It seems like a tall order for my first project to be two bipoles, but read on; I 'll make it taller. After all, I mostly do it for the fun of it :)

the question: I've been reading for the past month and info is just starting to sink in. I have seen all kinds of designs and have become quite a fan of back loaded horns, mostly because they are interesting in both design and theory. However, not once have I seen a back loaded horn bipole. To get a picture of what I mean, imagine the PAWO design for example, but with two drivers back to back (and volumes adjusted accordingly). Can anyone enlighten me as to why this kind of design has never been implemented?

Bewildered noob...

Expense. Cabinet volume. Room placement. Most folk haven't heard bipole and there doesn't seem to be much of a cult following for it as there is for, say, dipole, OB, etc. (like me ;-p). I think that's mostly it.