AN Std 8 + SI Super T-Amp = Weak Bass? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th February 2008, 06:22 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default AN Std 8 + SI Super T-Amp = Weak Bass?

Hi, first post!

I'm a DIY audio newbie. About a year ago, I read that TNT review of the Sonic Impact T-Amp, and had to have one. My goal was to use my computer as the source (lossless, CD-quality FLAC), and have the best sound possible at a reasonable price.

I received the Super version of the T-Amp as a gift. Also based on a review on the TNT audio site, I ended up buying the Audio Nirvana Standard 8" Full Range speakers. I built the "1.3" cabinet with plans from the CommonSense Audio website.

For reference, I've never really had any "hi-fi" or "audiophile" quality equipment. FWIW, I've got Paradigm Monitor 5's powered by a Pioneer Elite stereo amp as my "reference" system (also using computer FLAC as source).

Anyway, I've been running the Super T-Amp amp and Audio Nirvana speakers about 30 hours now. They sound great, except that the bass seems rather weak. The bass doesn't sound bad, just not nearly as prominent as the highs and mids. For example, as a guitar player, I think the guitar sounds really well-defined, very realistic. But the bass just isn't there. Example: I played Metallica's "One"---there's that intense double kick-drum breakdown in the middle of the song---the effect was kind of lost.

I've been doing some Internet research, and from what I've gleaned, neither the Sonic Impact nor the Audio Nirvana speakers are strong on bass. So as a combo, I probably should have expected this.