Half Chang to fit my need's ? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st December 2007, 11:01 AM   #1
lykkedk is offline lykkedk  Denmark
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to lykkedk
Question Half Chang to fit my need's ?

Hi all in here.

As i am a totally newbie, into loudspeaker's, i decided to make a new tread here. As seen before : which speaker's to choose ??

I have falling in love with the HalfChang design, but i am not sure if they are prober for my setup. (Hope they are through!)

I must confess, that i like loud music, with plenty Bass and soo, but i also like listning to clean music. The speaker's i have right now, i constantly stroggle with, to play loud enough with my equipment, but they simply are to hard to drive. My equipment, is two PassDiy F4's monoblocks (fully balanced), and a prober preamp. to drive them.

As mentioned before, i really like the HalfChang design. http://homepage.mac.com/tlinespeaker...map-051107.pdf
But i have a few quistion's on Driver's serieresistor's etc...

1. Is the preferred driver the FE206E + 4ohm series resistor ? http://www.lautsprechershop.de/pdf/fostex/fe206e.pdf

2. How big in watt must such a resistor be (5/10/20watt)?? and what type is preferred ? (metaloxie metalfilm ceramic wirewound) ?

I see that in drawing's of HalfChang, that 18mm. ply is preffered, is there any other thing's to consider, when buying wood for the project ?

Well, iam also wide open for combination, with an sub! (just a thought) ...

Jesper.

I attached a plan, for my living room, so that size's between wall's can be seen if any interest
Attached Images
File Type: jpg floor plan.jpg (28.5 KB, 686 views)
Old 31st December 2007, 01:38 PM   #2
John L is offline John L  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Half Chang to fit my need's ?

Quote: