Regarding BiBs, ML-TQWP - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th December 2007, 05:45 AM   #1
fwater is offline fwater  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Regarding BiBs, ML-TQWP

I'm a noob to the fullrange / single-driver world but not to speaker building in general. I have spent most of my time lurking and occasionally posting at the PE board where I have found the information, topics, and feedback to be very helpful and interesting. The one thing that bothers me about the PE board is the general undertones of over-reliance on right and wrong, black and white, yes or no calculations and measurements. By no means is this bashing (again, very positive experiences there and I will continue to use the site), but it seems that somehow the magic has been diminished in speaker building by some of the posters. Which is what brings me here...

I am fascinated by the ideas and principles defined by fullrange drivers. My limited exposure to just a few 3" and 4" speakers in open baffles has renewed my excitement for DIY! The results kind of put the magic back into it, now it's time to step up to the plate and start building.

I'm most interested in the BiB design for it's simplicity. I have 4 Tang Band W3-593SF that I want to implement in a bipole BiB. The rear-mounted driver will have a 4" PVC tunnel passing through the center divider and openning into the area just behind the front driver, effectively putting the backwave of both around the same point(?). When calculating the size of the enclosure (via Zilla's speadsheet), would I simply double the Vas when using two drivers, or does it get more complicated? Can the length be reasonably drawn out further than driver Fs?