Single Ended, Single driver: In-room distortion measurements

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
The past few weeks I measured the in-room IMD and THD for several amplifiers driving my Fostex208S in Replikon. I used my Single ended tube amp and a NAD C320 solid state amp for the tests. Later-on I also tested a Fisher KX 90 pp amp.
A quick comparison with two headphones was made and I started studying the effects of passive filters.

Summary of results:
-The distortion (IMD+THD) of a SET amp is significantly higher when measured with a resistive dummy load than when loaded with a loudspeaker.
- The SET amp has lower in-room distortion (IMD+THD).
- Headphones are not as good as their reputation, the AKG K 270 sucks.
- Passive filters seem to have a negative effect on the in-room distortion when a SET amp is driving the loudspeaker.

The details can be found on my website:

System distortion describes how I got started and shows how different loads affect the distortion of my SET amp.

System distortion part 2 contains more measurements showing a SET outperforming the NAD.

System distortion part 3 shows some preliminary results on the effects of filters.

If you can find any errors in my procedures or calculations, please let me know so that I may correct them.

I also would like to pose a question:
What are the best results for in-room THD and IMD that you ever came across? I'm looking for some benchmarks to strive for.

What happens if the XO is just a cap way up? (10k +)

Good question, but this would be more relevant for a wide range driver like the Fostex208ES.
For my system there is not much to be gained form adding a supertweeter (without getting rid of the whizzer) therefor I did not investigate this.