do poor simulations sometime miss reality?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Dunce and Merlin concur:

If you understand the 'simulator' well enough...
I.E. Know a little bit of the math AND
Believe in the results produced
(perhaps at the expense of a few experiments)
It will work !
Sorta metaphysical but true.
It would be a noble and enlightning experience
to write a simulator
pretty doable (I think)? in Excel
(I could never get the 'graphs' to work) :(

"If you write your own .... You can't complain about the product"
Frederic Karlsonasky ........ Mega :)

I'm no expert with sims or much theory behind speaker building. Just have listened to music!!!

IMHO the way of using/creating/reading the result from a sim matters more than just to have a sim for its own sake.

Add the fact that the best measuring speaker in an aneoic(spelling?) chamber, can sound like a chain saw with TBC, throw in a mist horn and descripton is complete in a "normal" room.

A little harsh description maybe but I have had some commercial speakers that were tuned for average rooms, not some artificial environment. Meaning that they were playing with the room, not against it. Stig Carlsson, RIP (Carlsson orthoacoustics) and Bo Hansson (Rauna of Sweden) tune their speakers in this way.

In reality this means a poor measuring in an aneoic chamber due to the fact they have a shallow roll off in the bass to compensate for the room gain. No boom, just tuneful fast bass. Only problem is that sales guys screams after ruler flat graphs!

I've got a feeling that nowadays most speakers has to be at least 1m from back and side walls. Add bass traps, diffusors and what else to make it function. Sure some people like to have it like this, just not my cup of tea.