Dumb Newbee Questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've pretty much decided that FR's is the route I want to go.

I've spent all kinds of time lurking on many forums but can't find the direct answers to the questions I have.

I'm not after biased opinions, we all have them, what I need more than anything is honesty because I'm a novice.

Much of my decision is not based on me believing FR is a better sounding speaker, I honestly don't know as I've only heard low buck FR's. I've played a little with some of those myself and next experiment will be with those less expensive drivers in an MLTL. There is something illusive about them I like. At the same time I must admit as many non Fans continually point out there are both highs and lows missing. I realize this is a source of argument among purist Fans of FR's who I continually see claim that with this or that driver the full spectrum of octaves is realized. I don't want to go there, there are just as many who claim these people can't see the forest for the trees. I hate crossovers. I don't hate them because I believe I can hear them because I must honestly say I don't know if I do. I've never owned 'audiophile ' ( hate that word) grade equipment but I have owned high mid end stuff and I'm not really sure. Perhaps it is my ears or I am hearing the crossovers and the illusiveness I describe is the lack of hearing the crossovers. I hate them because I can't build them and at this point don't have the patience to learn. Butterworth is what I put on my pancakes. :xeye: These 2 facts combined as well as the expense involved of buying woofs, mids, tweets and building an x-over as well are what have motivated me towards FR. The Zen in me also just digs the simplicity.