BIB newbie questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey guys, I just learned about the "Bigger is Better" cabinet style on these forums and thought it would be a good first project to introduce me to speaker building. I've never built a speaker cabinet, and I'm also very new to most hi-fi audio concepts and terminology, so go easy on me.

From what I've read the FE127E seems to be a popular driver, so I went ahead and ordered a pair which I plan to use in my BIB.

So I just have some questions about the basic construction.

What's the best way to cut and chamfer the hole for the speaker?

I don't really understand the function/construction of the "suprabaffle" either. I looks like it's usually just a round sheet of wood that goes around the speaker?

It's hard to find some basic newbie intro to these boxes, but I found this page showing how to calculate the dimensions for the box:
http://www.zillaspeak.com/bib-howtobuild.asp

I noticed in one place they describe Z as "Distance of driver center to top end of cabinet" but on the page that gives driver-specific dimensions, they say Z is "distance down from sealed end of cabinet". Why do they say sealed end here? Seems to me the "sealed end" would be the bottom of the enclosure.

This page also gives three options for the stuffing. What sort of material is good to use here, and what audible differences should I expect from these three stuffing options?

My living room ceiling is sloped to each side, shaped like this /\ (the slope is not that drastic though), with the TV directly under the crease. And due to the layout, I would not be able to put my speakers near the corners of the room, just along the wall. I've read that the BIB depends on the walls/ceiling to help produce it's sound. Do you think a BIB would still sound decent under these conditions?