Inconsistencies in driver specifications

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have this crazy idea of building my own fullrange driver. To get a handle on the things involved in driver design I'm studying what's out there. I looked at the specifications for the Lowther drivers and there is something I do not understand:

In 'Testing Loudspeakers' Joe D'Appolito describes two methods for calculating the efficiency of a driver. The first uses fs, Vas and Qes to calculate the efficiency:

N0= 9.6 x 10^-10 ((fs^3 x Vas) / Qes) (equation 2.35)

If you look at the specs for the Lowther DX2, DX3 and DX4 you'll see that the specified fs, Vas and Qes are the same for all three drivers, yet the stated efficiency is not the same.
How can this be?

Next I looked at the Fertin 20EX fieldcoil driver. The stated efficiency is 101dBSPL/W/m (max current in the fieldcoil), the Bl product is 8.7.
Sd=0.02m^2
Re=6.4?
Mms=18g

Using the following equation:

S0= 20log((Bl x Sd)/(Re x Mms))+88.5 (equ. 2.38)

I get 92 dBSPL/ 2.83V / m, quite a difference.

Am I doing something wrong? Or is there something else going on here?

Thanks for the link Martin.

'Not accurate' seems to be quite an understatement. Lowther specifies an Fs of 36Hz for the DX2, DX3 and DX4. Your results are 56Hz, 60Hz and 59Hz for these three models.

Based on your results I also question the validity of the specified flux density, which was the part that interested me javascript:smilie(':mad:')

Is it really that difficult for a manufacturer to provide an accurate and comprehensive set of specifications? If a car's specifications would be this inaccurate all hell would break loose.

Gerrit Boers said:
Is it really that difficult for a manufacturer to provide an accurate and comprehensive set of specifications? If a car's specifications would be this inaccurate all hell would break loose.