Why not MDF?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
stiffness...

I feel that horns need the extra stiffness of the ply.

the grain of real wood tends to be stiffer than particle board. add the crossgraining of a ply action, you have a substance of lower internal loss/higher relfection than MDF. the MDF "sings" MORE of its own sound than the ply, the ply lets you hear more of the initial energy of the driver.

the specific gravities of the woods are similar. that is BB to MDF. of around .6 while mdf has the "ideal" specific gravity for BLH construction, it just does not do the trick.

i am not a formal scientist about this stuff, but have tried both substances myself in identical horn enclosures. I use strictly birch ply with dense solids as driver mounts, but other woods work well.

lots of people tend to refer to MDF as emduuuf. it just kinda sounds like that too. BLH or bus reflex builds. duuuff dufffff duf duf duf duuuuuf duuuuf. I am hearing the basslines echo in my head from many a monkey coffin speaker. the bass is plump, and truely fat. and not with a PH. just an ufffey resonatey sound hanging over your entire consciousness while listening to the speaker. like the first few milliseconds of a cow getting hit by a car travelling 60 MPH. but less organic sounding.

note that not all studio monitors are made of MDF either. the world is filled with choices. I have seen people on this forum for years... I made my blh enclosures out of MDF... what is wrong with the drivers? I have all this damping in the horns... etc. etc. months later, they give up the progect or simply rebuild the enclosures out of suitable wood after being made aware of their mistakes by people on this forum.