Which enclosure for Altec 409-8B - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range
Home Forums Rules Articles The diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Community

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th July 2007, 02:54 PM   #1
edlye is offline edlye  Singapore
diyAudio Member

Question Which enclosure for Altec 409-8B

Hi, I'm very new to diy loudspeakers and am interested to know if anyone has an idea of which enclosure will suit an Altec 409-8B. The Qts is 1.54, Fs is 91Hz and Vas is 0.61, the speaker was originally designed as a ceiling speaker. OB is not an option because of the lack of WAF. Many thanks!
Old 4th July 2007, 03:14 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I would have suggested an OB, probably, but since that's not an option, how about an aperiodic? That high Qts is going to be a killer and your first concern will probably be trying to tame it. You may have to install a damping pad over the back of the driver. I assume that if the WAF doesn't allow for open baffles then a huge 6 cubic foot infinite baffle cabinet would be out of the question too.

Best, Wade
Old 4th July 2007, 11:26 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Seems that OB is quite an inevitable choice, what are the options to consider? What about BLH or transmission line? Thanks!
Old 5th July 2007, 01:19 AM   #4
GM is offline GM  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Which enclosure for Altec 409-8B

Greets!

Hmm, these specs are what's listed for the 409-8D, so don't know how accurate this will be, but a ~aperiodic TL is pretty forgiving, so worth a try since it's simple/cheap enough to get a near IB response in a relatively small footprint:

L = 53.183"
W x D = 131.28"^2