speaker with two full range drivers

This may be a dumb idea, but being a newbie I will ask. Is there any merit to making a speaker with two identical full range drivers? I know the arrays are always matched to keep the same impedance and two drivers will cut the impedance by half. Will it help sound stage, separation, etc..... I am trying to build something here with some $$$ constraints and this is an off the cuff idea. Thanks for your replies in advance.
Salsero

One way to do it ,is to put the second driver to the backside the speaker.This way the baffle step correction is not needed,as many people are against the filters (not me;) ).

Also with 2 identical drivers the output level and power handling can be doubled.

Just to give you some ideas...

Salsero said:
This may be a dumb idea, but being a newbie I will ask. Is there any merit to making a speaker with two identical full range drivers? I know the arrays are always matched to keep the same impedance and two drivers will cut the impedance by half. Will it help sound stage, separation, etc..... I am trying to build something here with some $$$ constraints and this is an off the cuff idea. Thanks for your replies in advance.
Salsero

Look at the DIYParadise site.
Check the section on Coral speakers. There's a twin Flat 8 box, I think.

Doug

Using two FR drivers on the on the same side (front) of the cabinet is generally not recommended. Two (or more) sound sources will ceate comb-filter effects for frequencies above a few KHz. The effects will be a very uneven FR response for the higher frequencies if the listener is not exactly on axis.

Download the Baffle diffraction simulator The Edge to experiment with the effects of baffle shapes and multiple drivers.

A bi-pole solution should be OK, or alternatively using the second driver only for the lower frequencies (below the baffle step).

SveinB.