computer controled relay

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Ok, i am a second year EE student. that being said, dumb down any conversations on digital circuts or semiconductors or whatnot. also don't suggest things that are expensive!

problem: i have 2 cold cathodes in my computer case. they have a switch. i have to open the case to turn the switch off.

what i want: i want to control the switch via computer. my plan is to run some kinda signal to a transistor that will turn on a relay, or turn off a relay. the signal will come from the serial or parellel port.

what i had thought: some kinda Xor gate where the serial port is one input, and the ouptut is the other input. i don't have any idea why this would really work, and figure it is probably the hard way to do this all.

hmm, i had wanted something a little more dumbed down then that. I did think of something though. it involves 3 transistors involved as switches, and 1 op amp as a comparator, and a few resistors and a relay. possibly a coulple diodes. i'll attach the likely very wrong version. like i said, i'm new to semi-conductors.

Attachments

• computlight1.png
    computlight1.png
    5.6 KB · Views: 91