Newbie Questions etc... - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Everything Else

Everything Else Anything related to audio / video / electronics etc) BUT remember- we have many new forums where your thread may now fit! .... Parts, Equipment & Tools, Construction Tips, Software Tools......

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th June 2006, 08:28 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Unhappy Newbie Questions etc...

Hi all,

As I mentioned in my intro, Iím a mech engineer, but a total noob to DIY audio. I have a whole list of questions etc, and couldnít find the answers I wanted in a quick search. So I thought Iíd start a new thread. No doubt Iíll come up with a hundred more questions as we go along. So, right off the bat, Iíd like to thank anyone for any help that I get. And please excuse my total ignorance in some areas.

System Composition:

Firstly, I think my first DIY project will be a subwoofer. I will most likely incorporate a plate amp into the box. These have a built in crossover (active I believe). So does this mean that you use this amp to drive the sub plus the other speakers? Or is it simply to ensure that only the low freqís go to the sub? If this is the case, wouldnít there need to be another crossover that is matched to the variable one in the plate amp?

What Iím getting at is that I want to know how a standard system would fit together. Isnít a separate amp usually used to power the mid/tweeter speakers? If so, where does it go in the loop? The plate amps have high level in/out and line level in/out. I figure it would go something like:
Line out of PC/DVD/CD etc etc.. into sub, sub crossover splits frequency, amplifies the low part only, and mixes L/R channels. Take stereo line out of sub, which is now only high freq, into other amp with no crossover, which amplifies signal for other speakers.