Dynamic Range Expander

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Okay, couldn't figure out what forum to post this in, but figured here would be best, this isn't exactly a diy project but most of you guys are by far more knowledgeable than me so here it goes:

Listening to a decent amount of pop radio, poor quality .mp3's and even a couple of really badly recorded CDs, I'm really starting to notice compression in the music I hear, especially when compared to an even "average/mediocre" CD on my player. I realize that there are tons of other problems besides dynamic range in this type music from these type sources, but its really starting to bother me when I hear modern music that is intentionally compressed so that it can be played back louder over the airwaves. So before you criticize me for my taste in music ( I am a college student, I'm entitled to listen to crap, and in most social situations obligated to play it for others), just if some of you "old timers" could give me some more background on these things called dynamic range expanders.

Sadly, I've never laid eyes on one before. Only by the magic of ebay have I become aware of their existence.

Also, before I forget I would like to ask for some advice on getting a new fm tuner. Currently I have an early 90's model Pioneer integrated amp with tuner that is *good* but am guessing could be better. My friend has a 70's pioneer integrated amp with a very smooth analogue tuner with some cool looking gauges including a strength gauge and wide/close signal selection, features mine lacks. So any suggestions? I'm a big fan of Sony ES, which has a pretty good consistent quality, but most of their tuners still sell for a couple hundred which is out of my range. Any other brands/specific models I shoud look for as a relatively cheap improvement from the built in digital tuner?