power cables

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Folks,

Im a diy newbie and have selected for my first project a diy power bar and power cables for my gear.

I have a few questions.

I know power cables must be shielded, but what about the cord from the power bar to the wall?

I plan on using the fattest multistrand in wall wire I can get for the power bar, but my question is, will this also be good for the power cables? Is there some phenomena that occurs in the last meter before the ac gets to your equipment that would make some expensive silver braid preferable to a large generic multistrand copper? I mean. from the breaker box to the outlet, it is all such wire- will using an exotic material for the last 3 feet make any difference? If so, why?

Lastly, does anyone have recommendations on where to source shielded 8- and 12 guage multistrand wire? The best I could find was an 8 guage non shielded.

any tips or recommendations are welcome.

PS Mark25 and Fdlegrove- Thanks for your replies last year to my turntable question - it turned out that neither the arm or cartridge were grounded.

phowell1 said:
Fair enough, analogue_sa, I was just looking for some pointers since this is new to me and I am slightly broke:( and therefore can't afford to do too much trial and error at this point.

During the ealy years whe circuits advanced faster than power supply technology, early versions of CD players and amps did show differences with different power cords. Now it seems the difference is less audible due to the power supply rejection capabilities and quality of power supplies.

Thanks for your reply, soonqsc.

soongsc said:

Now it seems the difference is less audible due to the power supply rejection capabilities and quality of power supplies.

Do you mean hash/rf rejection?