problems with soundcraft series 1s mixer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello. I'm new to DIY stuff and to music recording in general.
I got involved on recording.org and while I was there, my mixer died. Well it didn't die. Here's the problem:

i have a soundcraft series 1s that i got because i can't afford anything right now.

i've had it for about two weeks, and its worked fine. i just had a dead channel (1) and today the EQ wasn't working on channel five.

Well, a few hours I go to do some work and the sound going into the 8-track was really distorted. i adjusted the peak, it wasn't that. i swithced to a different channel. it wasn't that. i tried different mics, different cables. it wasn't that. finally, i switched the headphones into the mixer from the 8-track. I pushed down 'solo' on a channel to see if it was the mixer that was distorting the sound. It wasn't. i plugged the mic into the 8-track and determined that it wasn't the problem either. Then I came to the conclusion that it was the XLR output from the mixer.

I didn't know what to do, so I turned it off, came back about an hour later.

This time, I try to do things again, but now there's a buzz that goes from being soft to really loud once i turn a channel on. once that buzz comes around, nothing becomes picked up.

yeah. i'm going through a range of emotions right now.
help me out. i hope it's not ready to be thrown out since i was really excited about finally having a mixer, even if it was a dinosaur.

http://error599.net/tomislav/m1.jpg

since then i've messed around with it some more and found out that all of the sound, even from the headphone out on the mixer is being distorted unlike before.