Why I'll never buy another PC

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Well, the honeymoon period is over. I've now owned my G4 for 6 months.
For those unfamiliar with Mac's, this is not a pretty - arty looking Mac, but just a boring box, not dissimilar to a PC.
There was short pleasant learning curve. Of course I'm still learning, but then I'm still learnng about PC's too.
So has time faded it's appeal?
Certainly not. I'm more in love with it than when I got it. The grass looked greener, and it is greener ;)
What about the things only a PC can do?
What things? Virual PC allows me to run the 3 applications I have for which no Mac equivalent exists. I can now do more things than before, except catch a virus!
Networking? Of course; my Mac can talk perfect Samba.

I still have my trusty Compaq M700, but it's due for replacement soon. What will I replace it with? There are only 2 choices:- PowerBook or iBook.
My daughter just bought an iBook on my recommendation. It cost less than the Sony vaio she originally considered. She now cannot understand why I made her buy PC's in the past :D

Jam,

Good questions;)

There are sound card utities for the Mac, but i don't use computer based audio test applications.
Virtual PC6 seems to employ a virtual SB16 with only playback capability. Of course the native apps will be best.

Ports:
Ethernet works, sound card playback works. USB is flakey - but I use Win98. probably with 2K it'll be fine. Haven't checked Firewire.
There is no parallel or serial port.

The cartoon is funny - but quite untrue. Mac's can and do crash. Like cars, wreckless driving can cause it :angel:

Linux OS builds have always been available for Mac, but OS x brings some extra possibilities. being based on freeBSD, it has a lot of similarities. Have a look at Fink. It allows running of Linux apps on the Aqua desktop.:cool:

jam said: