Adding extra attenuation to S&B TX-102

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Adding extra attenuation to S&B TX-102

Hi,

After years of simply listening to audio equipment, I found out that building/tinkering adds a lot of fun. Therefore I am considering a Bent Audio NOH or Django transformer volume control kit based on the Stevens & Billington TX-102. But I am a complete beginner; perhaps someone could offer advice.

The trouble is, I need more attenuation than the TX-102 can provide. The output of my CD player is 4.6V (balanced outputs); the gain of my amplifier is some 29dB, and I listen at low/very low levels (less than 1V at the speaker terminals).

Although Bent Audio offered to build a custom TX-102 (with more attenuation), I have more or less decided against it. The standard version would be more flexible when changing my system. However, this means that some add-on attenuation (12dB) is needed.

I found two commercial options: a 4:1 step-down transformer from Jensen (JT-10-KBD), or external attenuators from Rothwell Electronics.

The Rothwells use a voltage divider network, which sounds simple enough to build it myself. Some questions:
  • Would there be much difference in sound between the transformer (the Jensen) and the resistors?
  • I would like to use the balanced inputs; does this require precisely matched attenuation for both polarities?
  • What resistor values should I look for? (The input impendance of the amp is 220K.)
  • Do I place the attenuators at the input of the passive, or at the input of the amp?
  • Anything else I overlooked?
  • Did I use the correct forum for this question?

Thanks in advance,

Michiel

Re: Adding extra attenuation to S&B TX-102

Konnichiwa,

mlvp said: