Uninterruptable power supplies versus hi-fi mains conditioning

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I am no electronics expert. I have a hi-end system which could benefit from eliminating mains problems because my actual CD player is not hi-end - it's a Pioneer DV757Ai with an apparent grounding problem! As a result I get voltage when a CD isn't playing coming out of the coaxial digital output. This ends up as hum in my system.

I have two choices:
1) Fix the player (which I will at some point)
2) Eliminate mains borne noise so that the player cannot propagate it

Given the supposed benefits of improving mains in a hifi system, I am wondering about the feasibility of using a continuous (not backup) UPS device over an expensive hi-fi power regenerator like the "PowerStation" from Isotek Systems (see www.isoteksystems.com) which retails for £2750 here in the UK.

From what I can tell, the Isotek unit is not doing anything particularly special over a normal continuous UPS. Both seem to take in mains power and compensate for voltage spikes/lags and over/under current, charging a reservoir/battery and then using a power inverter to allow pure regulated AC to be tapped of the reservoir.

I am hoping some hi-fi hobbyists who are technically competent in electronics can give me their opinion on this. I am thinking the unit I have seen here (http://www.dabs.com/uk/channels/hardware/powerprotectionups/productView.htm?quicklinx=DRQ) is just as capable and that if my amplifier draws too much power to be connected to the same unit I could buy two and still save a fortune!??

What are the pro and cons of this? And are there any technically proficient people out there who may have made there own mains conditioners?

Thanks.
RagingInsanity

The consumer-grade unit will probably not produce a sine wave with as low distortion as the audio-grade unit.