Incandescent lamps

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am not a Nuclear proponent, but my objection is simply cost based rather than any environmental plus or minus (and there are both). I feel it is just too expensive for the life we currently get from the kind of facilities we currently know how to build.

But storage of fuel isn't one of them, they still store it as they always have, under water at the plant, which is perfectly safe at a properly selected site. No need to duplicate the mistakes of others.

Since I'm sure the plan is for us to survive a few more decades, there is time to seek a solution. If we don't survive, the problem is meaningless, and our demise won't be because of some individual power utility, even considering how dangerous one potentially can be.

Our children are not idiots ... far from it ... and just as we figured some things out that our parents could not, they will as well.

We have simple, effective wind and wave water techniques that can and should be employed to solve electric demand, which is at this point likely to rise for a while yet. If there really is a viable, properly done study that says Nuclear is cheaper than wind, well, I'd have to read it before I came to any conclusions one way or the other. It sounds like an opinion piece to me, which has zero merit beyond being thought-provoking.

I think last year electric demand actually fell slightly, but population increases and the inevitable rise in middle classes worldwide will continue relentlessly, so it's not like it's a problem we can ignore. Not even mentioning the issue surrounding replacing massive fossil fuel use with alternatives.

I am OK with LEDs properly implemented but just like we still sometimes use wood for heat, the incandescent has a place that isn't going to go away just because we wish it so.