line output to xlr mic input - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Everything Else

Everything Else Anything related to audio / video / electronics etc) BUT remember- we have many new forums where your thread may now fit! .... Parts, Equipment & Tools, Construction Tips, Software Tools......

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th February 2004, 11:31 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to bogusblackman Send a message via MSN to bogusblackman Send a message via Yahoo to bogusblackman
Default line output to xlr mic input

Hey, newbie here, just a probably simple question for anyone that knows what they are doing. (iow, anyone besides me) I want to hook up the 1/8" line out signal from a laptop to an XLR mic input jack in a room for doing presentations from the laptop. I know that the signals are different, and just wondering what i can do to connect the two. Thanks!!
Old 14th February 2004, 03:21 AM   #2
haldor is offline haldor  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Re: line output to xlr mic input

Quote:
Originally posted by bogusblackman
Hey, newbie here, just a probably simple question for anyone that knows what they are doing. (iow, anyone besides me) I want to hook up the 1/8" line out signal from a laptop to an XLR mic input jack in a room for doing presentations from the laptop. I know that the signals are different, and just wondering what i can do to connect the two. Thanks!!

More than you will ever want to know about the subject.

http://www.rane.com/note110.html

Don't forget the 1/8" jack on your laptop is unbalanced stereo. If you want stereo into the sound system you will need to use two mic inputs. Don't just short the left and right channel output from your laptop to make a mono signal.

Here is more about wyeing audio signals/

http://www.rane.com/note109.html

Phil