Antique Fan - Too Hot????

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone,

I've recently picked up a small Happy Home branded fan, and I believe its from the 50's up to the 70's (I'm no fan expert). The fan's motor is nearly immaculate, no dirt, and (at least on the back of the motor) I can clearly see all of the windings and none of which are charred or damaged that I can see (however I've not checked the front of the motor, as its harder to remove the cover for that). I notice that I can barely operate the fan when using my variac and a 40Watt Light Bulb as the ballast, the bulb glows very brightly and drops the voltage too much. When plugged straight in to mains, it runs at a sensible speed and without oscillation turned on, it takes about 6 seconds to spin down. I can turn the blades pretty freely (again, I'm not an expert), however I see that after just 10 minutes straight on the mains, the housing of the motor is so hot that If I really grab the housing (to move the fan for example) I have a strong urge to let go.

Now for a few details, the fan has a sticker under the base that states it is 115V and 40Watts. My line voltage at my house is usually almost exactly 125V, so perhaps this was a hot running motor in the first place, and now its really unhappy about the extra 10v???

I've heard shaded pole motors get hot, and some, very hot, but I just want to see what everyone wants to say about this, as I'm not really sure about this issue myself. I'd say I think its either too hot or its a really hot running fan.

Any suggestions or comments are welcome, I'd really like to be able to use and restore this fan.

Last edited:
You have a few options..

Tear it down and check the bearings to see if they aren't going dry, grease them up if need be.

Check the brushes.

Generally clean out any dust or dirt.

Or get a variac or stepdown transformer and let it run on 115v again.