Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Everything Else

Everything Else Anything related to audio / video / electronics etc) BUT remember- we have many new forums where your thread may now fit! .... Parts, Equipment & Tools, Construction Tips, Software Tools......

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th June 2013, 12:47 PM   #1
Bruklyn is offline Bruklyn  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Boombox help please!

This is my first post here & the reason I'm posting is I'm looking to make a small but loud enough boombox for work. I work in a factory that requires earplugs so it has to be loud enough to hear and small enough to fit in a locker or take with me when I leave. I've read many articles & threads on the subject but am still having a hard time finalizing a plan.

My first thought was to get a small class T amp Dayton,sure,lepai etc & 4 full range drivers or a small woofer tweeter combo & just play music from my iPod/iPhone but but soon realized keeping it charged would be a problem.

Next I thought I'd add an iPod dock that I could play & charge from at the same time but then wasn't happy with only being able to play from just my iPod, no radio,cd's etc.

Then I thought a car cd deck would be perfect, it plays cd's has a radio, plays from an MP3 player or flash drive & doesn't need an amp. The problem with that is the size by the time u add speakers & a box it might be a bit bigger than I would like.

So my question is, I would to be able to play and charge my iPod, listen to the radio & hopefully from a flash drive. Does anyone know a way this could be done & still kept fairly portable?
Thanks Jeff
Old 13th June 2013, 06:05 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Sorry if I posted in the wrong forum, can anyone suggest a more appropriate forum or website? Thanks
Old 13th June 2013, 08:47 AM   #3
dangus is offline dangus  Canada