Plumbing help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
ok diy gods -- i need some help --

long story short -- i hae a leak in the ceiling -- found it by cutting some holes. galvanied pipe to copper, massive corrosing -- leak. Piping here is very old, no shutoff valve for that line, so therefore i have no water in the entire house and no heat -- cold night..

Whats the best fix here -- replace the galvanied pipe entirely and resolder a new copper connection? I am not experienced with plumbing but i think this is simple enough for me to take on. I have a butane torch, and a rotozip saw to cut pipe.

here are some pix

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

close up1

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

close up 2 -- how does the copper hooked up to the gal pipe? i know it is gal to reducer to copper - but does the copper solder or is it screw in as well?

tia guys

-chris

Plumbing in an audio group???

Okay, a couple of things here. First, where does the galvanized go? Is it the main feed to the house or is it an end point that connects to something in the house?

If its an end-point, then I'd say replace the entire galvanized run with copper (or plastic, your choice) If its the main feed to the house, then I'd say call a plumber and have them do the work. (hate to say it, but that's the way I'd approach it)

As to the galvanized to copper connection, if its done right, there are connectors for this that work to reduce the problem you're seeing. It will solder onto the copper and be a screw on, onto the galvanized pipe. Translation, if you're looking to just replace the joint, you'll need some way to cut new threads on the galvanized pipe. (not cheap)