Help our son 13 wants to build an Ipod dock - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Everything Else

Everything Else Anything related to audio / video / electronics etc) BUT remember- we have many new forums where your thread may now fit! .... Parts, Equipment & Tools, Construction Tips, Software Tools......

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th November 2012, 07:52 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Help our son 13 wants to build an Ipod dock

Its for a school design technology project, he hasnt seen the brief yet but thinks it will be using acrylic plastic.
Any thoughts or inspiration will be greatfully recieved.
Oh being an engineer I will give him a helping hand
Old 24th November 2012, 08:10 AM   #2
freax is offline freax  Australia
diyAudio Member

what generation of ipod? this matters. I would shoot for the 30 pin dock connector.

is this a cry for help or a serious request?

manufacturing the actual dock connector is impossible unless you own a factory, so just buy a dock and steal the one from that, then make up a 5v power supply to power it on the right pins, maybe tap into the analog output pins, and then build a simple chip amp to amplify the audio coming from it.

then crack open a beer, sit back and relax.

Last edited by freax; 24th November 2012 at 08:18 AM.
Old 24th November 2012, 08:22 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Its a touch 3rd generation think
Old 24th November 2012, 09:44 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

The 30-way iPod dock connectors are not available to the public so hacking an existing dock is definitely your easiest option. They're a pain to solder by hand anyway (I know..)

The cradle the iPod sits in needs to be fairly precise so if you can cut out and re-use the base of the donor hardware then your iPod stands a better chance of avoiding damage to its connector.
Old 24th November 2012, 09:58 AM   #5