extremely high frequency hiss sound?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
so for a few years i've had no problem with my hearing at all.. can hear all sounds just fine. and no sensitivity problems.
but i've always heard an extremely faint soft but absurdly high frequency hiss or tone in my ears when i'm in a very quiet room and not doing anything else.
is this normal? or is there some interference with my hearing/ears?
I'm not sure where to put this so i put it in the everything else section of the forums.

I think it's normal, but I'm not a doctor. It depends on how loud it is, if you look up "tinnitus" there's a lot of info out there on the subject. I have noticed this for myself my whole life so I guess that's why I said I think it's normal. I tend to have sensitive hearing though and I notice it mostly when I have too much coffee.

Everyone has a high frequency background noise in their hearing apparatus. For most people without clinical tinnitus the noise is so faint to be inaudible unless they are in a VERY quiet environment where the noise is above the background level. When I was in my early 20's I had no symptoms of tinnitus but I was able to hear this background noise in an anechoic chamber after 15 or so minutes in the dead quiet.

If you have tinnitus this noise is elevated such that it is audible...in mild cases you hear it when it is quiet, like at night in bed. More severe cases make it audible at higher levels of background sound. So if you only notice it in very quiet circumstances you may be normal, or it may be an early sign of tinnitus.

do you by any chance have high sensitivity speakers running parallel to cables which may or may not be carrying digital information? it could be anything, vga or hdmi cables in the walls, ethernet running alongside speaker cable...