Audio-related questions - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Everything Else

Everything Else Anything related to audio / video / electronics etc) BUT remember- we have many new forums where your thread may now fit! .... Parts, Equipment & Tools, Construction Tips, Software Tools......

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st October 2012, 08:44 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Audio-related questions

Hi. I'm asking these questions because I may try to make a commercial product (one day - or it may never happen). I do also enjoy diy electronics.

Please excuse my ignorance, I'm just starting out with a growing interest in audio electronics, and peoples likes and dislikes.

#1: Why are people making amplifiers with an output of 150 Watts? I mean, for your average living room won't a 10W amplifier do?
Old 31st October 2012, 08:59 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

#2: I've got the Art of Electronics by Horowitz and Hill. Something of a starter. What other 3 books that are dedicated to solid state audio, would you recommend, that would help me begin to engage (eventually) in solid state amplifier design? Thanks.

Last edited by richard8976; 31st October 2012 at 09:03 PM.
Old 31st October 2012, 09:16 PM   #3
DF96 is offline DF96  England
diyAudio Member

Modern speakers tend to be less efficient?
Modern listeners tend to like things very loud?

Read Doug Self. Even those who disagree with him ought to learn something useful.
Old 31st October 2012, 09:57 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

I've a ton of books in my wishlist. Cordell and Self seem to be currently popular authors. Probably those two would be good to set the ball rolling. Jones perhaps for hollow state.

Just ordered Cordell. See what the OM has to say. :c)

Last edited by richard8976; 31st October 2012 at 10:27 PM.
Old 31st October 2012, 10:05 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

Quote: