Advice needed on a PC webcam - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Everything Else

Everything Else Anything related to audio / video / electronics etc) BUT remember- we have many new forums where your thread may now fit! .... Parts, Equipment & Tools, Construction Tips, Software Tools......

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th September 2012, 10:26 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Advice needed on a PC webcam

I'm familiar with old-fashioned camera equipment but never used a webcam, and need to buy one to use with Skype. I'm a psychologist and need to talk to clients and look decent and professional while doing so. So looking for something better than just a cheap wide angle lens - something that would give a more realistic head-shot. This may mean mounting a camera a little further away to get a less extreme wide angle shot.

I'm open to any ideas. I have a Mac Mini. I could buy new or used, and could try to set up something like a GoPro or video camera for streaming. Quality on a budget would be nice. Right now I could do with a lot of basic information - I've never used a webcam!
Old 6th September 2012, 11:31 AM   #2
just another
diyAudio Moderator

I've had a few cheap webcams and they were very ordinary. I Bought a logitech Pro 9000 a while ago and it is dramatically better! I'm not sure if there is such a thing as a non-wide angle webcam. By their nature they are usually placed on the monitor of the computer (which is generally close to the user) so they need to be wide angle to get the person in frame.

The pro 9000 is very sharp (though occasionally it can get confused with the autofocus) it also is very good with challenging lighting conditions. I believe that it is also skype optimised (though I've never used it with skype).