Formal training

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

This may be a long shot, but as a hobbyist looking for a career change I would like to think that I could move into a fields that interests me. I'm thinking here of Audio technology, in particular loudspeaker design and construction.

I feel that a good starting point for me would be some sort of formal training leading to a qualification, MSc or whatever (I have a BSc in Electronics).
I'd welcome some genuine opinions and advice here. Is formal training a possibility, is it worthwhile? What courses are out there? the only one I have found so far (in th UK) is the Audio Acoustics MSc as Salford. It looks really interesting, but would I be wasting time and money at the age of 46 going down this route?

The question is, where would you intend to work after finishing the formal training? There are a lot of terrific loudspeaker engineers who are unemployed since most of the business has moved elsewhere.

Start your own company, perhaps? Business school would be more appropriate than engineering.

I wanted a career change, at about the same age as you. Like you I decided to turn a hobby into a second career. I went off to university again, and got an MSc in telecommunications. Then enjoyed it so much stayed for another 3 years and got a PhD. Two years postdoc research, then no funding and no job. People won't even interview you for a technical post once you are past 50. Now enjoying unplanned retirement.

Self-employment may be your best bet. A university course may be disappointing, as standards have dropped so much in the UK. My MSc (in a Russell Group institution) was about the level of 2nd-year physics of 30 years ago. The only benefit I got from it was admission to the PhD. There are people on this forum who know more about audio electronics than many university staff.

Last edited:
Disabled Account
Joined 2010